Return to Home Page Click here to discover more about the MG EX264 The latest news from AD Motorsport and RML Race Reports and Galleries Team History and Personnel Driver Profiles Media Information and Log-in Useful Links Team sponsors and how to become one Merchandise and Downloads

RML Team News
Newton and Mallock win BRDC Awards. Issued December 6th 2006

Mike Newton & Ray Mallock receive BRDC Awards

Mike Newton and Ray Mallock have both been awarded with prestigious BRDC (British Racing Drivers Club) Awards for their achievements in international motorsport.

Mike Newton was awarded the ERA Club Trophy with Ray Mallock, RML’s Chief Executive, collecting the Nigel Moores Trophy.

The ERA Club Trophy is awarded to the British Driver, who, driving a British car, established the most meritorious performance of the year outside the UK.

This is a great achievement for Mike, who has only been competing in international motorsport for four years. Alongside his co-drivers, Thomas Erdos and Andy Wallace, he drove the RML-prepared MG Lola EX264 LMP2 to class honours in the Le Mans 24 Hours for the second time in two seasons. Mike and Thomas Erdos also narrowly missed out (for the second successive year) on claiming the LMP2 title in the Le Mans Series.

The Nigel Moores Trophy is awarded to the private entrant who has established the most meritorious performance in international motor racing.

Ray Mallock’s teams this year claimed a string of race wins, including the LMP2 class in the gruelling Le Mans 24 Hours (for the second year in succession) and claimed a clean-sweep of pole position starts in every Le Mans Series race they contested. In other fields, RML also took two World Touring Car Championship wins for Chevrolet. However the award was in recognition of this year’s Le Mans victory.

Ray Mallock said "It is a great honour to receive the Nigel Moores trophy from the BRDC in recognition of my company's achievements in winning LMP2 at Le Mans for the second time. It is a huge challenge for a private entrant to win at Le Mans, and to win it twice in consecutive years is a great achievement for all those involved. However, one of my key challenges remains to win Le Mans outright."

The awards ceremony took place at the home of the BRDC at Silverstone Circuit, Northamptonshire, on Monday 4th December and the awards were presented by Damon Hill.

More information on RML is available at